Overview of Fellowship training

ACRRM is accredited by the Australian Medical Council to set and maintain standards in the specialty of general practice with a specific focus on practice in rural and remote communities. Through the Fellowship program, you are trained to achieve a broad range of knowledge, skills and abilities needed to be a safe and independent rural general medical practitioner.

The ACRRM Fellowship training program has three components:

  • Clinical training
  • Education
  • Assessments

Clinical training requirements

Successful completion of four years full-time training or equivalent part-time training consisting of:

Clinical training requirements may be reduced through Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Education requirements

Successful completion of these education activities:

  • an education program provided by a training organisation and in an accredited teaching post
  • at least four ACRRM online modules approved for training; and
  • the required emergency courses

For more information, on training requirements, see the Handbook for Fellowship Training.

Assessment requirements

Successful completion of these assessments:

For more information on assessment see the reporting and assessments page.